90s Bitch : Media, Culture, and the Failed Promise of Gender Equality

(0 review)

Finalist for the Los Angeles Press Club Book Award, muse to a Givenchy fashion collection, and recommended by the The New York Times, The Skimm, US Weekly, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, Refinery 29, Book Riot, Bitch Media, and more. Yarrow's biting autopsy of the decade scrutinizes the way society reduced -- or "bitchified" -- women at work, women at home, women in court, even women on ice skates . . . Direct quotes from politicians, journalists and comedians about the women provide the most jarring, oh-my-god-that-really-happened portions of Yarrow's decade excavation. -- Pittsburg Post-Gazette The nostalgic, smart, and shocking account of how the 90s set back feminism, undermined girls and women, and shaped the millennial generation from award-winning journalist, Allison Yarrow. To understand how we got here, we have to rewind the VHS tape. 90s Bitch tells the real story of women and girls in the 1990s, exploring how they were maligned by the media, vilified by popular culture, and objectified in the marketplace. Trailblazing women like Hillary Clinton, Anita Hill, Madeleine Albright, Janet Reno, and Marcia Clark, and were undermined. Newsmakers like Britney Spears, Monica Lewinsky, Tonya Harding and Lorena Bobbitt were shamed and misunderstood. The advent of the 24-hour news cycle reinforced society's deeply entrenched misogyny. Meanwhile, marketers hijacked feminism, sold "Girl Power," and poisoned a generation. Today echoes of 90s "bitchification" still exist everywhere we look. To understand why, we must revisit and interrogate the 1990s--a decade in which empowerment was twisted into objectification, exploitation, and subjugation. Yarrow's thoughtful, juicy, and timely examination is a must-read for anyone trying to understand 21st century sexism and end it for the next generation. ...

29.18 29.18 USD 29.18

29.18

    This combination does not exist.

    Kindly be considerate of shipping delays as we are currently processing more orders than expected and shipping times differ by location.
    Please note that import duties are your responsibility

    Free Delivery Worldwide: 15-30 Business Days
    For faster/paid delivery, kindly place your order via books@sankofalivity.one


    Author: Read by  Allison Yarrow
    Format: Paperback
    Language: English
    More Product Information 1: Review Text
    "Allison Yarrow is a feminist and a muckraker in the tradition of Betty Friedan, Naomi Klein, and bell hooks. Her enthralling new book, 90s Bitch, takes a long overdue sledgehammer (and, when needed, a scalpel) to the misogynistic myths that cloud our view of that troubling decade. Like all great cultural historians, she examines every sordid cranny of our culture-its sexual mores, its pop culture and rampant consumerism-so as to lay bare the marching orders issued by the patriarchy: that women should shut up and put out, sell out, sell themselves short, and most of all obey. Yarrow's prose is brilliant, her insights are razor-sharp, and her moral aim is essential. If America is ever going to recover from the Trumpian tailspin wrought by masculine insecurity, we need fe......

    More Product Information 2: Review quote
    BREAKING: Women are regularly vilified by the media simply for existing! Sadly, this isn't anything new. In '90s Bitch, Allison Yarrow takes you back to the era of Anita Hill and Monica Lewinsky and Tonya Harding and examines how the media fueled America's sexism.--Bustle ...

    More Product Information 3: About Allison Yarrow
    Allison Yarrow is an award-winning journalist and National Magazine Award finalist whose work has appeared in the New York Times, the Washington Post, Vox, and many others. She was a 2017 TED resident and is a 2018 grantee of the International Women's Media Foundation. She produced the Vice documentary "Misconception," and has appeared on the Today show, MSNBC, NPR and more. Allison was raised in Macon, Georgia and lives in Brooklyn, New York. ...